Reflections on ETL501

I’m done! I can’t thank my lecturer,  Barbara Combes enough for her patience and inspiration. Her patience in answering the same questions over and over again has been inspirational. The knowledge that I have gained over the last 13 weeks has been mind-blowing. I would also like to thank my husband who has looked after our 4 children, cooked, made lunches, folded laundry and cuddled me when I’ve cried. Thank you both for making this dream possible. Here are my thoughts on my learning from ETL 501:

LEARNING

The process of creating this pathfinder has been motivating and fulfilling. A pathfinder definitely has benefits in assisting students and teachers, as it is created specifically for them and with a particular purpose. It would be enormously beneficial to classroom teachers (but initially time consuming) to create a pathfinder for each HSIE stage. Once established, it would just be a matter of up-dating the pathfinder and checking the links. This current pathfinder could be extended to incorporate:

  • an information literacy model
  • a student website evaluation form
  • a research sheet to guide learning
  • a student assessment rubric
  • a reference/bibliography outline
  • a forum or blog for student feedback/comments/sharing of other resources
  • a blog to exhibit student work

There are so many resources available that I have now created a library resource folder that contains my preferred search engines, dictionaries, Web 2.0 tools to utilise now and experiment with later. Further work is still required on refining my search skills. I was disappointed at not finding a more student-centred search engine that had quality information on this topic. More time investigating educational databases and directories would have been beneficial. The length of the video selected is concerning, but the content is sound. I struggled with the GCs and working at the top layer. However, overall my learning curve has been huge and includes learning to:

  • plan, search, evaluate, create and present my first pathfinder (woohoo!)
  • deliberately select advanced features and use Boolean on search engines and understanding its potential
  • use educational databases and directories
  • select quality information in all forms using a set criteria
  • experiment with a variety of Web 2.0 tools such as diigo, bubbl.us, wikis, Weebly and animoto
  • think about the purpose and structure of a pathfinder
  • manage resources and Web 2.0 tools
  • reference everything
  • value copyright issues – contacting authors for books/images/videos

I now have a wonder and enthusiasm for teaching and technology.

Leave a comment

Filed under ETL501

Leave a Reply

